Godina Traveling Fellow

Marko Godina was a visionary reconstructive microsurgeon, an insightful and enthusiastic teacher, and a remarkable man. Despite his abbreviated career, tragically cut short at the age of 43, he led the way for a generation of microsurgeons in understanding the care and treatment of complex extremity injuries through early reconstructive microsurgery. The American Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery knows no better way to honor the memory of Marko than through an ongoing investment into promising, upcoming, committed surgeons, who will, through study and investigation, continue to expand the horizons of our field. In this regard, the Godina Traveling Fellow has been established to allow a deserving individual, chosen by the ASRM, to travel among numerous microsurgical centers around the world.

The Godina Traveling Fellow will:

  • Receive a stipend to use towards travel expenses, room and board. The expense cap for the Godina Fellowship is set by the Executive Council yearly.
  • It is strongly suggested that non-North American fellows visit American institutions.
  • The 2021 Godina Traveling Fellowship will begin in January, 2021 and will conclude at the subsequent annual meeting, at which time, the fellow will deliver the annual Godina Lecture.


  • The applicant must submit at least three letters of recommendation from members of the ASRM or the World Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery who can attest to the candidate's character and achievements.
  • Applicants must be members of the ASRM.
  • Successful completion of a surgical residency and/or fellowship leading to the acquisition of competency in reconstructive microsurgery (i.e. plastic surgery, orthopaedic surgery, general surgery, otolaryngology, hand and/or microsurgical fellowship.)
  • A candidate's age at the time of appointment should reflect the spirit of Godina's youth.

Please send application and supporting material to the ASRM Central Office at asrmadmin@isms.org no later than October 15. If you have any questions please contact the Central Office at 312-456-9579.



Past Traveling Godina Fellows

2020 Adam Maciejewski, MD, PhD

2019 Bauback Safa, MD, FACS

2018 Yixin Zhang, MD

2017 Liza C. Wu, MD

2016 Jan J. Vranckx, MD, PhD 

2015 Joon Pio Hong, MD

2014 Matthew Hanasono, MD

2013 Michel Saint-Cyr, MD

2012 Steve Moran, MD

2011 Samir Mardini, MD

2010 James Higgins, MD

2009 Yur Ren Kuo, MD, FACS, PhD

2008 Michael Sauerbier, MD

 2007 Peirong Yu, MD

2006 Ming Huei Cheng, MD, MHA

2005 David Chang, MD, FACS

2004 Michael Neumeister, MD

2003 Milomir Ninkovic, MD, PhD

2002 Raymond Dunn, MD

2001 William Zamboni, MD

2000 Roger Khouri, MD

1999 Gregory R. D. Evans, MD, FACS

1998 Philip Blondeel, MD

1997 L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS

1996 Zoran M. Arnez, MD

1995 Randy Sherman, MD

1994 Mark A. Schusterman, MD

1993 Lawrence B. Colen, MD

* Currently Traveling

© 2011 American Society for Reconstructive Microsurgery - 20 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 700 - Chicago, IL 60602 312-456-9579. Fax 312-782-0553. contact@microsurg.org | Contact Us | Privacy